kaynoxxcrafts:

So this is Lucille. 

Lucille took 7 months to finish, which is my longest weaving completion time to date. This is mainly because she is made up primarily of tassels which take forever to make. 

A little background: Lucille is a character from the movie Crimson Peak, which was directed by Guillermo Del Toro and came out last October. 

A friend of mine really wanted to go see it but I’m not a fan of horror movies at all so I was a little hesitant about going. I hate jump scares but I really adore messed up psychologically weird story lines with a bit of the paranormal. 

Turns out Crimson Peak was right up my alley! I adored the movie and was inspired by the gorgeous visuals enough to make this girl. 

I wanted to give off the impression of thick red blood/clay like in the movie and used 20+ different types of yarn in this weaving, trying to find as many different textured yarns as I could find. Finally, the emperor moths in the black sections are custom made wood cuttings I commissioned from another artist. Overall, it weighs around 18 lbs. 

Also, there is no way I could part with it so this one I will be keeping. It’s current residence is in our entertainment room, which, fittingly has red walls. 

